Montreal, Quebec, Canada, based – visual artist and designer

Graceful prisoner – 2009 – about


Graceful prisoner

Can be purchased online right now, on ETSY using this Link

gracefulprisone_framed close_up3 close_up4 close_up2 close_up1


I strongly feel that art is to be appreciated on an individual basis and that a work of art should need no explanation to stand as a visual work of art, it is visual art not music, so it should at least be appreciable and understood in some intuitive fashion to be a work of visual art; but I also think it is important as an artist to give some information, meaning, techniques or other pertinent details about your art and artworks, so as to make your artistic approach, views, feelings, interests etc. somewhat clearer and better perceived, as we tend to be silent removed people, I know I tend to be…

As well, I have not had the occasion to have my work digitized or had better pictures taken of them, and, maybe some additional information could fill in some blanks in any reader’s mind? The occasion to look back and think of the progress also is a nice exercise, so I will work my way from this piece of artwork to the most recent ones, some of which have not been posted yet, one post per piece. (It should also help me going at posting more often, which I admit has not been a habit of mine yet 😦 )


The inspiration for this work:

I come from a place in Canada where the Catholic Church has had a major break with the general population. For many many reasons, French Canadians have had a break with any and all major religions, to varying degrees, and though we still are generally believing people in something or another, it can be perceived when observed objectively that this major shifting of our culture in that way, which can also be extended to many other cultures around the world, left a big void in people’s lives, one that I am not sure has even partially been filled.

I’m not saying by any means that a return to religion is anything good, or bad; just that major religions have kept divinity on a golden leash, mostly hidden away from people and used as power over followers and their individual existences, or for personal gain of some type or another. The return of the pendulum: the population awakening to all the abuse and corruption have severely shunned away from most of these activities, ways of thinking, living and acting that came from them: a major break indeed.

I have trouble coming to grasp with the reality that still today in 2014, major religions and their respective followers clash together so violently all to often, if once wasn’t already too much, when indeed for all of my own personal research for instance (though I’m not a Theology expert myself, I will admit): all major religions seem to prone peaceful, loving, kind, spiritual, basic sets of rules and regulations, to call it that.

Special details:

This particular artwork has a special meaning to me in many ways, not least technically, in that it is during the preparations and producing of this piece that a new turning moment of my artistic progress and artistic identity started, sort of an “Ah-Ha!” moment for me in many ways.

The mediums used:

This is a mixed-media artwork. Watercolors in tubes, inks and Acrylic paints/pigments were used.

Supports and other specifications:

Illustration, fine grain, cold-pressed, acid-free, 100% cotton paper. Finished with special water based, paper artworks, preserving finish and water based aerosol varnish for paper based projects.

Can be purchased online right now, on ETSY using this Link

If instead you wish to donate to encourage me to continue and create more and in better conditions, using PayPal, I’ve set-up this link

Leave a Reply

