Montreal, Quebec, Canada, based – visual artist and designer

Mine! – 2010 – about


Mine!

Can be purchased online right now, on ETSY using this Link

   thosearemine_framed close_up4 close_up1 close_up2 close_up3


The inspiration for this work:

It was a simple and short moment, at the end of a dream, and I remember that I had thought:

“Mmm, wonder if there is something hidden in the little box (or was it behind a door) of course now that I just thought about it, there will be something… Let’s see what it is…”

And looking through the locket hole, there was this very angry fairy type thing, crouching over its bounty of big and small teeth, mad at the fact that I was threatening its treasure. I thought it was so funny and felt it was such a surreal, child-like, moment for me to have during my dream, that I woke up laughing!

I remember the defined grain of the wood around the golden locket hole. The teeth did seem such a golden color as to rival the purest gold and I could understand the black fierceness of the small creature wanting to defend it so, as I was the one in fact intruding on a secret place and time after all, on my way out of a dream; but I wasn’t threatened by the small thing or slightly felt like it, I actually felt like a little kid in wonder of the world unseen, the world imagined and the world of the unknown…

I like painting my dreams, or, as in this case just a short moment from them, and I am always amazed at how much I remember from my dreams, how many of them I remember and many still from childhood, as if they are more memories than dreams; I remember my dreams in a way that I regularly project myself from waking state, to re-live them again or rewind, fast forward, change perspective and remember yet more details just about every time. I will admit as well that it feels very good to do so like meditation…

Sometimes, I get only one little moment left from a dream, but upon exploring it time and time again, I get more and sometimes it is much later, years even, that I remember more or all of it. Off and on, you’ll see a piece that will come from my dreams, or part of it will: many dreams I have planned to paint and soon as well, it has always been a source of inspiration… Just thinking about dreaming makes me feel good and at times, it has felt more like life than life itself felt like, and, it is still a mysterious part of life that I take in fully as it is, in awe and exploration, but wanting to understand more, pierce its mysteries.

However, I have to say that I seldom, very rarely, have bad dreams since childhood anyway and they won’t be remotely about the same things as what people usually experience as “nightmares”, I guess partly because dreaming of such things as being chased by Zombies, serial killers, ghosts, evil spirits, demons, monsters, Aliens, end of the world or anything else people are afraid of in nightmares is rather more like a fun and stimulating experience for me and if it stops being fun during a dream I usually turn back towards what scares me and start chasing it until I reach it and destroy it (IMA bit of a PSY-CHO 🙂 yes…)

As well, I’m always ready to go to war or fight for some reason in life and I’ve always felt invincible particularly in threatening or scary situations, even though I’ve never been a soldier and don’t want to be either (maybe a past life? Soul of a warrior? Who knows) but I don’t get scared in life like in dreams. In addition, whenever something doesn’t make me happy in my dreams, truly bothers me: I change it, wipe it, send it away or right clear and bash it if I have to, as I have said before! And then go back to my current dream or onto the next adventure! So I guess I do get nightmares, I just enjoy having them as well as good dreams and don’t see a distinction between them most of the time.

Special details:

I actually produced this work at about 25%, before starting to remove a cheap paper-blocking substance (to avoid its contact with paint, so it remains white); but that cheap one I had used decided it was going to be glue instead and bond to the paper, so I had to start over again and use a better product after testing it, which translates into:

-Start over again, don’t try to fix it or wallow in the time lost; because before you know it, you’ll be back to the same point (we tend to do things better – and faster – when we do them over and over again, so it goes for me anyway, the same goes for art where major problems and techniques of yesterday are reduced to mere seconds after years of practice) and ultimately its just plain ‘ol better for the nerves and better for the artwork, as well because you will redo things even better that additional time and the art will profit from that, so don’t be shy to start over again if you feel you should, even the slightest bit: better to get on with it when you know, the quicker the better.
– Cheap is often a good idea in art, but sometimes its also better not to skimp on special products
– Test S$&t first before applying it to a large area when it’s new or you don’t know how it’s gonna act and it is so hard to remember that one particularly after you’ve been painting for many years: you think you know better, then life teaches that you don’t in the form of a new lesson, again yeeeaa 😦 … lol

The mediums used:

This is a mixed-media artwork. Watercolors in tubes and pencil form, as well as Inks and Acrylic paint were used.

Supports and other specifications:

Illustration, fine grain, cold-pressed, acid-free, 100% cotton paper. Finished with special water based, paper artworks, preserving finish and water based aerosol varnish for paper based projects. 19 x 24 inches

Can be purchased online right now, on ETSY using this Link

If instead you wish to donate to encourage me to continue and create more and in better conditions, using PayPal, I’ve set-up this link

Leave a Reply

