Montreal, Quebec, Canada, based – visual artist and designer

Bad conversation – 2010 – about


Bad conversation

Can be purchased online right now, on ETSY using this Link

       badconversation_framed close_up1 close_up2 close_up3


The inspiration for this work:

Well it’s simple, most of us have been there off and on: the fake “shooting yourself in the head” with your finger gesture, whilst on the phone, either because of the person(s) your talking with, or the specific conversation, annoying phone call or just annoyed at getting a call etc.

If it’s not the conversion of your finger to a momentary fake gun; in your version you might fake stab yourself with a phantom knife in your hand, fake hang yourself with an invisible rope your holding, or just fake strangle yourself… It’s funny, because it’s not about killing yourself really, but just the opposite: getting on with your life, the moment and back to your day. It’s profoundly human, I think to some extend, throughout the world to just have to manifest your dis-contempt, or allow to come out just some of the annoyance a conversation represents to us sometimes, without the other party knowing about it of course, and when you know you can’t be seen: isn’t it easier to do what we wouldn’t normally… Funny how we genuinely are unhappy about some things, but instead of coming out and saying how we truly feel, we put up with many seemingly small nuisances for the “sake of things” etc.

I’ve especially have had many a moments like this on the phone myself truth be told. I guess, the fact that I worked in a call center for many years alone has made many phone conversations annoying to me (it’s made the phone annoying to me), but also, I’ve always found that the phone offering no visual support often impairs the complete communication as intended by both parties, just like the email does impair the communication by offering even less of the person’s intent, tone, often the clear point of the communication etc.

Why don’t we just arrange to see people face-to-face as often anymore? It’s smart phone this, tablet that, email, phone call, even when we are physically with someone already. I’d rather see a person in the flesh, especially if they have or want to talk to me about many things or much stuff: and I’d rather they don’t be on their electronic gizmo for 75% of the time or more, heck I think 20% is already rude, so most people’s habit with them is something I don’t get.

Now side note about the first degree of this artwork, for kiddies: it is not okay to kill yourself and I don’t intent to trivialized suicide to your eyes with this work. Amen – The office of my political connectedness be done 😉

Special details:

It’s a small, “Spur of the moment” type of work that was completed in a few hours, which I always enjoy, because there is something so awesome about feeling this creative, sustained energy running through your mind when you create from A-Z in one sitting, it’s powerful and invigorating to sometimes have this instant artistic gratification.

However, given the mixed-medias I work with and the type and specific nature of the art I make (just to name a few reasons): I don’t get it nearly as often as I’d like, most of the time I start a work, usually a 19 x 24 inches in size or more, and the creative energy feeling is almost gone by the time I’m 80% done and I have to kick myself in the proverbial “Arse” to complete the 20% left in a timely manner; as well as to prevent that it becomes a shelved, partially completed work, by not completing it when there is still some motivation to do it, because these almost never get completed otherwise, in my case anyway.

Since I also won’t accept to skimp on the quality of my work, or to cut corners and start something else as quickly as the weak voice in me asks for: I put 2000% of myself all the way to the painful end, perhaps ensuring that it is as long as it can be. Duality is a B@%$h !!!

The mediums used:

This is a mixed-media artwork. Watercolors in tubes, solid form and pencil form, as well as Inks and some Acrylic paint were used.

Supports and other specifications:

Illustration, fine grain, cold-pressed, acid-free, 100% cotton paper. Finished with special water based, paper artworks, preserving finish and water based aerosol varnish for paper based projects. 9 x 12  inches

Can be purchased online right now, on ETSY using this Link

If instead you wish to donate to encourage me to continue and create more and in better conditions, using PayPal, I’ve set-up this link

Leave a Reply

