Montreal, Quebec, Canada, based – visual artist and designer

An uncomfortable dinner – 2011 – about


An uncomfortable dinner

Can be purchased online right now, on ETSY using this Link

uncomfortabledinner_framed close_up2 close_up1 close_up3


The inspiration for this work:

Specifically, I was at a dinner with friends one evening and from my seat I could see a young couple in a remote, more intimate, corner of the restaurant: they were kind of far away and I couldn’t hear what they were saying, but it wasn’t so much pertinent as the body language said it all. The whole period we were there, she obviously seemed on the verge of breaking-up with him and he clueless-ly wasn’t getting it, like we most often don’t! lol

She was looking up at the ceiling oftentimes and rolled her eyes whenever he was carrying on talking about the undoubtedly meaningless, boring or pathetic stuff we talk about when what is going on eludes us, but were either starting to get a slight uncomfortable feeling,  self-centered and not paying attention to our date or just plain ‘ol being as blind as guys can be in a relationship. Though he seemed like he was slowly getting around to possibly figuring out the situation, but not quite there.

I stopped looking because, well I was intruding on their privacy and I felt I shouldn’t (right, anyone believe that? 😉 ); but ultimately, the specifics of their situation, if I was even reading the situation correctly or not, how it was ultimately going to end etc. wasn’t important and I did not want their personal history ultimately to take away from the essence of what I wanted to preserve. Really all that I needed was those few instants that charmed me the most and the expressions on their faces, to remember: the moment when one is thinking about all theses heavy things to tell the other, and the other, whom isn’t reading the situation or the gravity/seriousness of the situation or what obviously is about to happen. We so often don’t see what’s right in our faces, because our noses are right in it I guess and we so often prove to have little perspective and insights about the others we see regularly or share our lives with…

We left the place before them and I made a point of putting everything together as soon as possible, writing down many details, the colors there and the colors to add and everything else I didn’t want to forget.

Special details:

This was a fun project, being inspired by a special moment that I found charming in its “complexity”, and it left a strong enough imprint that I just had to compose an artwork out of it!

Though, I did not finish it in one sitting, like most of the time, and it actually took many hours to complete for it’s simplicity, it was ultimately completed in only a few days. A work that was easy to carry through all the way to the end in a sustained manner and one that has gotten a lot of attention from most viewers from day one.

The mediums used:

This is a mixed-media artwork. Watercolors in tubes as well as Inks were used.

Supports and other specifications:

Illustration, fine grain, cold-pressed, acid-free, 100% cotton paper. Finished with special water based, paper artworks, preserving finish and water based aerosol varnish for paper based projects. 19 x 24  inches

Can be purchased online right now, on ETSY using this Link

If instead you wish to donate to encourage me to continue and create more and in better conditions, using PayPal, I’ve set-up this link

Leave a Reply

