Montreal, Quebec, Canada, based – visual artist and designer

The Jackal & the Mountain – 2011 – about


The Jackal & the Mountain

Can be purchased online right now, on ETSY using this Link

jackalnmountain_framed close_up1 close_up2 close_up3 close_up4


The inspiration for this work:

Where I live in Quebec, Canada, we get a long, humid winter. And all too often we have a summer that goes from hot and humid temperatures like an Amazonian forest, to intensively cold and often rainy at the same time the next day. Though, thank heavens, it doesn’t get nearly as cold here in Montreal as some other parts of Quebec and Canada; however, seeing as it is very humid, being an island surrounded by water, the temperature felt is often colder in winter and it goes all the way down to your bones, but makes the summer days very humid and heavy/harder to bear in complete contrast.

So, on one cold humid day of winter, dreaming of dry heat, I wanted to work on a project that would warm me up momentarily, spirit wise at least; and parts of the composition existed in separate sketches that I knew I wanted to put together in a Mojave desert type colors and feel, but that I had not started working at yet, until that day…

One doodle led to another, that led to another, that led to some more doodles; then I got this vision of mother mountain overlooking the desert and it’s rich life, I saw the Jackal as being a charming yet very much predatory in that he is hiding behind something and close to a sleeping bird in some bushes close-by and perhaps he’s about to make it his next meal, or maybe not, and I wanted that ambiguity to be present.

Finally, I had a vision of the sets of colors I wanted precisely and how I wanted to assemble them. I then got the large sketching sheets out and I assembled some of the basic structures the basic lines of the subjects and where I wanted them to be etc. took down some notes; but I stopped for a few days at that point, like I pretty much always do, to basically assemble the finish product in my head over and over, rethink some things, think about the techniques I wanted to use, the feel I wanted to give to each part and most of the details, as I always try to plan just about everything ahead of time.

Though it doesn’t mean that I definitely bind myself to all that I plan ahead and if something else seems like it will render better upon conception of a work, I will go for that instead, but most of what I have in mind ends up being carried though in the finished work.

Special details:

There is a lot of watercolor paint in pencil form throughout my art and indeed this particular piece as well, and a lot of lining work (that perhaps doesn’t show so well in the pictures I have posted along) went into the sand dunes, line by line, to give it a soft rendering.

I have to say that it seems to me, having worked with them for years now, that any watercolor artist should consider having a good set of them to work with, as there are so many renderings, techniques, results of all types that are possible by the use of them and combined with other medias it gives you an undeniably great tool to add to your set of mediums. Any artist working with water based/soluble mediums should try them I think, but even oil based paint/medium artists would find some use for these pencils for one thing or another.

The mediums used:

This is a mixed-media artwork. Watercolors in tubes, in tablets and pencil form, as well as Inks and Acrylic paint were used.

Supports and other specifications:

Illustration, fine grain, cold-pressed, acid-free, 100% cotton paper. Finished with special water based, paper artworks, preserving finish and water based aerosol varnish for paper based projects. 19 x 24 inches

Can be purchased online right now, on ETSY using this Link

If instead you wish to donate to encourage me to continue and create more and in better conditions, using PayPal, I’ve set-up this link

Leave a Reply

