Montreal, Quebec, Canada, based – visual artist and designer

A moment – 2012 – about


A moment

Can be purchased online right now, on ETSY using this Link

  amoment_framed close_up1 close_up2 close_up1 close_up3


The inspiration for this work:

To a greater extent, my inspiration for this piece is the long life struggle I have with the fact that every moment of every day harbors an enumerable amounts of moments that I am most likely never to see or experience, moreover, every moment is made up of an infinite number of little things happening at the same moment, making it improbable you might understand and indeed experience the full meaning and importance of even one moment. I often come back in all the important moments in my memories, and the the lesser ones as well, to make sure I experienced and understood as much as I could from them, and it does yield more things to uncover or understand at times, but even if I were to “juice” out all of the moments in my memory: they are still few in comparison to all those I actually experienced, but can’t recollect at all, or rather can’t do it as well, rendering difficult in my view to get the most out of every moment of life.

So I come back to the same realization that so much happens around me every day, which I have not, and never will have access to. Oh well, life is short and ya only got one to live! (or something as such we’re meant to believe in order to be at peace with this limitation) And I do come to my senses eventually and remember we all have our personal road to travel and we can’t be everywhere, at every time (though I do so wish I could!); but it does remind me to try to get the most I can from every moment, and enjoy them (even the bad ones), as best I can, thinking that there is so much I will miss anyway that I best make the most of my own road, and just broaden it up if I feel it’s too narrow.

“How to illustrate it, though?”, and I was instantly reminded of a short moment I thought was so intense in meaning, even though it might have seem so insignificant to someone else for all of it’s simplicity: upon trekking in the woods one day, I saw again with my eyes an interaction of nature that has always fascinated me throughout my life, of a Wasp hunting a small spider, to feed it’s larvae.

I was always drawn to Wasps and find them to be so very refined, pretty and well designed in their killer ways, regular Tigers of the insect world. Still, caring parents, arguably not as great as the Bees whom are different bugs altogether, but much better than you might expect from such a savage insect. Well, is it that savage though? Not really, it is just life, some are prey some are predator, though I was always so surprised at the fact that it would readily attack Spiders and feed it to their Larvae, even though in the insect world, the Spider is no pushover wimp, is it! But I guess the Wasps has the everlasting proverbial “high ground” and it sure knows it!!!

Special details:

So much is happening in that short moment: the insurance that the Wasp Larvae will get fed; the Spider will fight for it’s life and will know I am sure that it is in jeopardy; and if the Spider wins, it means that not only the Wasp might die but do so along with its offspring and that the Spider might yet succumb from the wounds anyway; the Wasp will be coordinating a series of attacks and maneuvers to succeed, only to have to drag this immense prey to it’s Larvae not so close by either; then it launches itself, strikes and succeeds, just to have to rush back and drag the Spider off seemingly so heavy; The Sun is shinning it’s multitude of rays, making the air warm up and circle as it mixes with the colder air and blows a mild wind on the patches of long grasses, mixing in and creating perfect lines along with the dirt, putting a momentary order within the two seemingly chaotic substances at rest.

I wanted that vibrancy and intensity of the moment as I saw it, to be translated conceptually upon gazing at the work, that the eyes would be almost subjugated at the movement, if possible, but not epileptically so, however: so how to strike a balance?

I thought: the scene is simple enough so that elaborating it as if it were a stylized time-lapsed photo, would translate the vibrancy, all the simultaneous movements and action of that one simple moment, as well as move the eyes all over to rest it over key areas, just to be pushed out again somewhere else, but not out of the picture because of visual “nauseousness”.

I find it hypnotic in the end and I am quite satisfied with the result, I feel my intuition was correct and I sure had a ball painting it, I remember well!

The mediums used:

This is a mixed-media artwork.  Watercolors in tubes, in tablets and pencil form, as well as Inks and Acrylic paint were used in the making of this artwork.

Supports and other specifications:

Illustration, fine grain, cold-pressed, acid-free, 100% cotton paper. Finished with special water based, paper artworks, preserving finish and water based aerosol varnish for paper based projects. 19 x 24 inches

Can be purchased online right now, on ETSY using this Link

If instead you wish to donate to encourage me to continue and create more and in better conditions, using PayPal, I’ve set-up this link

Leave a Reply

