Montreal, Quebec, Canada, based – visual artist and designer

Scum and the gang – 2013 – about


Scum and the gang

Can be purchased online right now, on ETSY using this Link

    thugngang_framedclose_up1 close_up2 close_up3 close_up4


The inspiration for this work:

Doodling is an activity I greatly enjoy and I very often put aside doodles I want to develop and incorporate into a work or even create into a work on its own. To be clear on what doodling represents to me though, I would specify that: it is first characterized indeed by its simplicity of execution, nothing overworked or using more than one or two colors of pencils and preferably whats laying around when you are inspired (like simple commercial ink pencils are great I find as they flow on paper well); but, in difference to sketching, there is a certain detachment from drawing any particular subject, representation or even conscious drawing, in that you start by either intuitively or mechanically drawing lines and shapes and everything your hand dictates on the fly and only work at shapes consciously when you see something emerge that you want to keep.

Varying the shapes, motifs, repetitions of lines and shapes, letting your arm and hand move free at times, but controlled other times; you have to stop frequently, however, and decide if you are overworking it and should stop to see the big picture or if you see anything specific that should be developed more consciously, or, if you should move the paper around to work it in different orientations, perhaps change the way you were presenting it to your eyes initially. You will see amazing things in your doodles more often than not, as if by magic, incredible scenes and subjects will show up in your “simple doodles”, yet another great example of the awesomeness that is in our brain, which is in fact tricking us to see patterns and familiar shapes in them doodles!

I won’t argue that a creative brain will come up with more and perhaps greater “end results” from this exercise; but I truly think anyone would greatly enjoy spending at least an hour a week, intensively doodling and creating with this simple technique, because it is so much intuitive, it will constitute an fun way to create pressure free and in “discovery mode” for those whom feel they have little or no drawing skills and anyone that want to create but have little or no experience etc. Of course, for us Creatives it has always been known as a great exercise, to doodle regularly, though perhaps many of us tend to stop doodling over time, even if this very exercise should be part of any “Warm up” routine to a drawing or creating session, at least in my opinion.

Yes! “Warm up” to drawing:-p !!! If you are twenty something, you still don’t feel the aches and pains of life, but you will, and you probably won’t do the right thing by warming up your hands and arms, getting your hand-eye coordination calibrated and get everything to grip and pivot as it should, everywhere it should. Like most of us you won’t do these at first and you might end up not being able to work for as long a period as you want, as intensively as you want, without feeling aches in your joints the next day etc. And believe me when I say that you will feel any and potentially all of the ailments of age as anyone else does, so perhaps integrating a “warming your hands and arms before drawing” routine before you have to, might reduce the amount of difficulties you experience in integrating it when you’re old and have a lifetime of old habits too hard to break… My opinion again, in any case.

Coming back to this specific artwork; I had a few doodles that I had kept for a long time because they all seemed like they were part of something else, but I had not yet identified how any of them would be used and if I was to use them alone, or as part of a work, or along with another scene or doodle. I had kept “Scum”, the Worm, and the “Muscles”, the Crows, for a long time and when I created the “Slime-ball” Snail and “Sleazy Gal”: I saw the bigger picture of how I wanted to assemble theses doodles with one another. I envisioned a meeting deep underground where dirty business and dark designs are being discussed, and I tried to paint the scene as if the viewer is stumbling on it unknowingly, with all the subjects making it quite clear they have no business watching them and being there, but perhaps shocked at the same time that someone has just stumbled in…

Special details:

As with many other works of art, I don’t necessarily develop the final set(s) of composition drawings or sketches, or creation of the final scene as I see it in my mind on paper, to say it differently, upon getting the flash or inspiration of what I want to create: I rather fall into “pre-sketching” mode I call it, where I paint the scene over and over in my head differently, using different proportions, colors, positioning etc.

By the time I am ready to start the actual preliminary sketches of the composition of any work, regardless if its made using doodles or not, I usually know everything I want to do in the artwork, how and where I want everything, the feel and look of everything specifically and how to produce every part of what I want, long before beginning the actual artwork itself. Although, I do pay extra attention to inspirations and brilliant ideas that sometimes come during the production of the final artwork and which, more importantly, end up being better representations or renderings etc. than what I had earlier established or prepare: must not kill the “spur of the moment” or eureka moment only because something else was planned originally.

As well, I always keep a sharp eye out for the randomness that can emerge on it’s own whenever you consciously create, because on those rare occasions that you catch the right kind of randomness in the right place of your artwork, and manage to keep it without overworking it and invariably ruining it: you almost feel as though the universe was painting with you to produce a final result even you didn’t envisage or plan for. Or maybe it’s just me that find that particularly enjoyable… lol

The mediums used:

This is a mixed-media artwork.  Watercolors in tubes, in tablets and pencil form, as well as Inks and Acrylic paint were used in the making of this artwork.

Supports and other specifications:

Illustration, fine grain, cold-pressed, acid-free, 100% cotton paper. Finished with special water based, paper artworks, preserving finish and water based aerosol varnish for paper based projects. 19 x 24 inches

Can be purchased online right now, on ETSY using this Link

If instead you wish to donate to encourage me to continue and create more and in better conditions, using PayPal, I’ve set-up this link

Leave a Reply

