Montreal, Quebec, Canada, based – visual artist and designer

Folles nuits de Pygale – 2013 – about


“Folles nuits de Pygale” or Pygale’s crazy nights

Can be purchased online right now, on ETSY using this Link

        follesnuitsdepygale_framedclose_up2close_up3close_up1


The inspiration for this work:

Quite literally a visual flash inspiration which came about a few years ago when a few friends and I, still in school, were preparing for a special night themed after The “Moulin Rouge” and were asked if we could bring some artworks to the event, not necessarily following the theme, though the school had welcomed that possibility of us creating something for the event.

I didn’t have time to produce the artwork at the time of my “flash”, partly because I was already producing some other artworks, but also because of the said school, whom had kept us quite busy, being so intensive in it’s programming. So I brought some other framed artworks in the end, but I did keep the flash in my head, as you can see it now for yourself. I had decided to report the production of it to a latter time because I really enjoyed the “flash”, as well as to work on it a little more, perfect everything as it were: which time, more precisely, came earlier at the beginning of this year.

The inspiration is a simple flash of burlesque dancers, of the female persuasion, in line: but of which only one of the dancer’s face appeared. Seen from a lower perspective and most of the the dancer’s face was covered behind her dress, that she held-up to hide it somewhat and make her eyes “Pop”, and her back-stance further hid her from my eyes, though I could still see them. I had the feeling of being a little boy, aroused and excited: at seeing theses long, nude, legs flashing up and down and side to side and the frivolous highly colored undergarments revealed momentarily but also visually “accosted” as well by the dresses, extensive in their conceptions and made of multiple decorated layers…

Past life flash, instant from something I’ve seen before, perhaps on television or just pure invention from my mind: the first “flash” did not include any view of the “Moulin Rouge”, only a sense that it was there just beyond these dancers. I saw one dancer with extra legs on each sides suggesting other dancers, though I could not see other faces. So I thought I would keep true to most of the flash and not show the face of more dancers etc. but I would include a gross stylization of the “Moulin Rouge” in Pygale, famous French burlesque show-house of this world renown “Red district”, which would suggest itself visually and respect the feel of my flash being about the dancer. I searched for a version of the quarter that corresponded to the period I felt was the one I was present in, in my little “flash” inspiration…

Special details:

I keep a lot of visual flash inspirations, conceptual ones and even simple ideas that I’ve had in the past, in my mind; some have been with me for years even before I produce them: I come back to them and work on them if I feel they are not completed or I don’t have the completed scene ready yet, so I add or change certain element(s), modify the layout, change or modify the background etc. etc.

When I truly feel they are ready to be put on paper, only then do I start creating some sketching. I create multiple versions of the sketches, assemble the sketches in a composite one if I had developed the ideas independently or on multiple sketches, and perhaps over different periods of time: to create a final finished version of the sketch. Sometimes the sketch stays on the shelves, as it did in this case having been made about 5 months before the final work started.

The mediums used:

This is a mixed-media artwork.  Watercolors in tubes, in tablets and pencil form, as well as Inks and Acrylic paint were used in the making of this artwork.

Supports and other specifications:

Illustration, fine grain, cold-pressed, acid-free, 100% cotton paper. Finished with special water based, paper artworks, preserving finish and water based aerosol varnish for paper based projects. 19 x 24 inches

Can be purchased online right now, on ETSY using this Link

If instead you wish to donate to encourage me to continue and create more and in better conditions, using PayPal, I’ve set-up this link

Leave a Reply

